An Open Letter to Muslims on September 11

I don’t want to hate you. I don’t want to live in fear that someone in the Muslim community is going to wake up and destroy the people I love. I don’t want to believe that there is little chance of redemption and healing in your broken community…But I do. As I mourned the 15th anniversary of the September 11th terrorist attacks on my country that left us broken and ragged, I understand that even though I don’t want to hate you, I do. I also hate that part of myself that hates you. When I see your community worldwide, I see the pain and suffering that your religion and  your people have had on you. I can’t help but wonder how we have come to this. I don’t understand why your people stay in bondage, why they allow evil men and women to destroy their families, their communities, their countries and their religion. You tell us constantly that Islam is a religion of peace and that those who do horrific evil under the name of Islam don’t speak for you or your religion…But if that’s true, then why aren’t you standing up to say enough? Why aren’t you arming yourself and your people and fighting back? I can’t understand how you let your children be slaughtered, raped, and used as suicide bombers and just sit back and be passive. I don’t want my son to grow up in a world full of hate and evil on constant replay, but because of your inactivity, every minute of the day is filled with another atrocity committed by a Muslim. When people who claim to be Christians do or say something that is in stark contrast to the teachings of Christ, I always stand up and say so. If people claiming to be Christians began perpetrating acts of violence, hate, and evil, those of us who are true Christians would stand up and stop them…so why don’t you? As this world is being ravaged by Islamic terrorists, I see you sitting down and letting it happen. I don’t see you fighting back or even speaking out against it. I wait to see if your people will stand up and rid the world of the plague that is Islamic terrorism, but I am still waiting. While you sit down and let this continue, the country that your people tried to destroy, lose thousands of good men and women in the fight to free you from those who seek to destroy all of us…But to me, it doesn’t look like you want to be free, it doesn’t look like you disagree with the terrorists or that you are interested in fighting back. I don’t want to hate you, I don’t want to fear you, but until you start fighting back, until you convince me that those who do these horrible things claiming it’s true Islam don’t speak for you, I will. I will have to catch myself when I see you on the train, in a crowd, at a race. I will do everything in my power to protect my son and my family from the evil acts perpetrated by Islamic terrorists, even if that means protecting them from you, and unknown possible threat. I so want this to be different, I want to embrace you, share life with you, but I can’t, not yet. I want to cry with you over the atrocities committed by those rare extremists, to mourn over the loss of your children and your loved ones, but I can’t. Because the extremists aren’t rare, they aren’t a select few that act out in hate occasionally. Islamic extremists are the only religious group carrying out horrific acts of evil every single day. Until that changes, I will have fear and sometimes hatred for your community, especially when I see you demanding that we conform to the religious beliefs that are driving these psychopaths to kill and destroy children and humanity indiscriminately. Until that changes, I will be overly cautious anytime I see you on the street, or interact with you when I don’t know what you’re really wanting. I’m sorry that this is how it has to be right now, but until your people start ridding this world of those who seek to destroy the innocent, I don’t want to hate you, but I do.

Published by: kristenkrueger092014

I am a Christian counselor, speaker and author. I have traveled the painful and difficult path of healing after trauma and want to bring hope and healing to those who are suffering. So often trauma leaves lasting wounds that no one can see. These invisible wounds affect every aspect of our lives and can be devastating. There is hope in healing from these invisible wounds.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

